Rock in your shoe

A couple weeks ago I decided to take a run on a gravel path in Central Park.  As I ran, about every couple hundred feet I would get a small pebble in my shoe.  Every time this happened I would stop, balance on one leg, and shake the small stone out of my shoe.  Then I would continue running.  This happened about 5 times, and each time I would get a bit more annoyed.  These small rocks were ruining what should’ve been a nice time.  So, seeing as I could not fix the rock problem, I decided to just ignore it.  After a little while I totally forgot about the rocks and discomfort and contently finished my run.

Aphorism:

There will always be a rock in your shoe, so you better get used to it.

Leave a Reply

